Board of Directors

  • Lauren Baer (’02)
  • Peter Barack (’65)
  • Martin Budd (’60)
  • Ben Carmichael (’08)
  • Saj Cherian (’97)
  • Isobel Coleman (’87)
  • Jeff Gell (’97)
  • Martin Gilkes (’97)
  • Scott Grinsell (’04)
  • Linn Hobbs, OBE (’66)
  • Parker Hudson (’68)
  • Ted Kamman (’85)
  • Zachary D. Kaufman (’02)
  • Robert Kyle (’77)
  • Michael Li (’07)
  • Betsy Scherzer (’07)
  • Jacob Chacko (’02)
  • Margot Singer (’84)
  • Len Srnka (’68)


  • Meena Seshamani President
  • Scott Grinsell Vice President
  • Ted LeinbaughDirector of British Affairs
  • Zachary D. KaufmanDirector of Communications
  • Betsy ScherzerDirector of Programs
  • William Coquillette Treasurer / ClerK
  • Nell BreyerExecutive Director / Secretary

Advisory Board Members

  • Graham Allison (1962 Marshall Scholar) Douglas Dillon Professor of Government and Director of the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs at Harvard University; Dean of the Kennedy School of Government from 1977 to 1989.
  • Anne Applebaum (1986 Marshall Scholar) Journalist and Pulitzer Prize winning author; former member of the Editorial Board of the Washington Post and an Editor of the Economist; married to Radoslaw Sikorski, Foreign Minister of Poland, she lives in Warsaw, but is a frequent visitor to London, where she was, early in her career, a reporter for the Evening Standard.
  • Bruce Babbitt (1960 Marshall Scholar) Director of the World Wildlife Fund and environmentalist; Secretary of the Interior 1993-2001, Attorney General of Arizona 1975-78 and Governor 1978-1987.
  • Stephen Breyer (1959 Marshall Scholar) Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States 1994-present; Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and then Chief Judge; professor at the Harvard Law School and at the Kennedy School of Government; Chief Counsel of the Senate Judiciary Committee.
  • William J. Burns (1978 Marshall Scholar) President Carnegie Endowment for International Peace from 2015; formerly Deputy Secretary of State, career Ambassador to Russia, Assistant Secretary of State for Near Eastern Affairs and Ambassador to Jordan, special assistant to the President of the United States, and director of the policy planning staff of the State Department and of the National Security Council.
  • Kurt Campbell (1980 Marshall Scholar) Chair and CEO of The Asia Group and Chair of the Center for a New American Security; recently Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific affairs and earlier Deputy Secretary of Defense for Asia and the Pacific and Associate Professor at the Kennedy School, Harvard University.
  • Thomas Everhart (1955 Marshall Scholar) Member of the Board of Trustees of Caltech; formerly President of Caltech and Chancellor of the University of Illinois, Dean of the School of Engineering at Cornell and a faculty member for twenty years at UC Berkeley; Chairman of the Secretary of Energy’s Advisory Board and Vice Chairman of the Council on Competitiveness.
  • Keith Griffin (1960 Marshall Scholar) Emeritus Chair of the Economics Department UC Riverside and expert in development economics; President of Magdalen College, Oxford, 1979-1988; Director of Queen Elizabeth House (Institute of Commonwealth Studies); member Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission; Founding Trustee of the Oxford Islamic Centre.
  • William Janeway, CBE (1965 Marshall Scholar) Managing Director and Senior Adviser at Warburg Pincus in New York and London; benefactor of Cambridge and member of the Board of Managers of the Cambridge Endowment for Research in Finance (CERF); Chair of the Board of Trustees Cambridge in America; Co-Chair of Cambridge’s 800th Anniversary Capital Campaign.
  • Nannerl Overholser Keohane (1961 Marshall Scholar) Professor in Social Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Studies, Princeton University; President Emeritus of Duke University and Wellesley College; member of the Harvard Corporation; Visitor at the Institute for Advanced Study, 2014-15.
  • Harold Koh (1975 Marshall Scholar) Sterling Professor of International Law at Yale Law School; earlier, Legal Adviser to the Department of State, Dean of Yale Law School, Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor, and Professor of Law at Yale Law School.
  • Douglas Melton (1975 Marshall Scholar) Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of the Natural Sciences at Harvard University; co-director of the Harvard Stem Cell Institute.
  • Peter Orszag (1991 Marshall Scholar) Vice Chairman (Institutional Clients Group) at Citigroup, Inc. and a member of the Senior Strategic Advisory Group; formerly he was Director of the Office of Management and Budget (2009-2010), Director of the Congressional Budget Office (2007-2008), Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution and Director of the Hamilton Project, and Special Assistant to President Clinton for Economic Policy, as well as the founder of an economics consulting firm.
  • Harrell Smith (1960 Marshall Scholar) Member of the Board of Directors of the Association of Marshall Scholars (AMS) and was its Chairman 2007-2009, he is currently responsible for developing the Advisory Board and directing its work; he retired from private law practice in Washington DC where he specialized in the laws of international trade and investment.
  • Edward Stolper (1974 Marshall Scholar) William Leonhard Professor of Geology at Caltech and Chairman of the Division of Geological and Planetary Sciences since 1994; Acting Provost of Caltech since 2004 and now Provost; member of the National Academy of Sciences.
  • Kathleen Sullivan (1976 Marshall Scholar) Professor of Constitutional Law at Stanford Law School and also engaged in private practice; professor of law at Harvard Law School then Stanford Law School and Dean from 1999 to 2004; former President of AMS.
  • Daniel Yergin (1968 Marshall Scholar) Chairman of Cambridge Energy Research (CERA); authority on energy policy; Pulitzer Prize winning author; member of the Secretary of Energy’s Advisory Board

Former members:

Roger Tsien (1972 Marshall Scholar) Professor of Pharmacology and Chemistry and Biochemistry, UC San Diego; shared the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery and development of green fluorescent protein (GFP); Research Fellow at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge; faculty member at UC Berkeley from 1982-1989. Deceased.

Honorary Patron

  • Prince Charles His Royal Highness, the Prince of Wales, is Patron of the Association of Marshall Scholars.

Need to RSVP for an event, have questions about searching the Marshall Scholar database, or want to get more involved?
We would like to hear from you.