

Marshall Forum on the Rule of Law Legal Issues in a Post-Pandemic Society September 24, 2021, 9:00 am - 2:00 pm ET virtual via Zoom

hosted by the Association of Marshall Scholars and the American College of Trial Lawyers

Participating Delegation:

United States of America

U.S. Supreme Court

- Hon. Stephen Breyer (1959)
- Hon. Samuel Alito
- Hon. Sonia Sotomayor
- Hon. Neil Gorsuch (1992)

U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona

• Hon. Diane Humetewa

Supreme Court of California

• Hon. Martin J. Jenkins

U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York

• Hon. Jessie Furman

U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

• Hon. William J. Kayatta, Jr.

U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas

• Hon. Barbara M.G. Lynn

American College of Trial Lawyers Fellows and Marshall Scholars

- Cinnamon Carlane (2001)
- Sheryll Cashin (1984)
- John A. Day, FACTL
- Andrea L'Verne Edney, FACTL
- Jeannie Suk Gersen (1995)
- Harold Hongui Koh (1976)
- Adam K. Peck, FACTL
- Ashok Ramani, FACTL

- Jeffrey Rosen (1988)
- Andrew Schapiro (1985)
- Kannon Shanmugam (1993)
- Douglas R. Young, FACTL
- Jonathan Zittrain

United Kingdom

Supreme Court of the United Kingdom

- The Rt. Hon. Lord Hodge
- The Rt. Hon. Lady Arden of Heswall DBE
- The Rt. Hon. The Lord Mance PC

Northern Ireland

- The Rt. Hon Sir Declan Morgan QC
- The Hon. Dame Siobhan Keegan DBE

High Courts of England and Wales

- The Rt. Hon. Sir Geoffrey Vos MR
- The Rt. Hon. Sir Julian Flaux, Chancellor of the High Court
- The Hon. Mrs. Justice Steyn DBE
- The Hon. Dame Justine Thornton DBE QC

Barrister

Helen Davies QC

Association of Marshall Scholars (AMS) & American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL)

Dr. Nell Breyer, AMS Executive Director
Kathryn Burton, AMS Programs
Scott Grinsell, AMS Board President
Sarah Burch Khairallah, AMS Director of British Affairs
Camille Mumford, AMS Communications Associate

Dennis Maggi, ACTL Executive Director Rodney Acker, ACTL President Amy Mrugalski, ACTL Sr Strategic Initiatives Manager Sarah Stokes, ACTL Senior Communications Manager

Summary:

The online precursor dialogue to the 2022 Marshall Forum on the Rule of Law, co-hosted by the Association of Marshall Scholars and American College of Trial Lawyers, brought together distinguished American and British judges, lawyers, and legal experts to discuss a series of topics including: COVID and the Courts, Separation of Powers, and Free Speech and the Internet.